Don’t Starve!!!

Have you tried this game? My brother plays this and the first time I saw it, I was unimpressed: the 2D thing, and weird characters and the plot didn’t seem to be so good. My opinion didn’t change after watching him a few times over a couple of weeks.. then, after him nagging me to try it, I finally tried to play it. Surprise, surprise! It’s actually pretty good, to the point of my playing it non-stop for 4 hours the first day. That’s not usually me; I get bored with video games easy if it’s not engaging. Don’t Starve is actually pretty good. And with the constant updates, there’s always something new 🙂

Don't Starve

It’s a good game to strategize with, even though it can be sort of basic after playing it for a while..  It’s still very interesting, like I said previously, with the continuous updates. The most recent one right now is ‘The Stuff of Nightmares’ and I started playing it when the lastest update used to be ‘It’s Not a Rock!’ So far, so good. Can be a little trying if you start off with a really hard map (i.e.) the rocks are on the other side of the map or the beefalos are few and far between. That kind of game I can’t do so well in just yet, but I think after playing for more that 200 game days, I’m starting to see what’s most important especially at the beginning. My usual tendency when I start a game is to explore. I run along the edge of the island and collect food and grass and stuff as I move along. With this plan, I usually find the rock beds and the beefalo herds, so it’s how I always start.

My base

The above picture is from a custom map, using Wendy, the fire starter. As you can see, the nighttime is very short (custom map). Night time is dangerous because you will die in the dark, whichever character you are. But this version of the game tends to be so easy that you can advance pretty well into the game with less risks of dying because you have all day to your stuff! It gets boring on this setting, so I only have this one when I get frustrated with my other regular non-custom maps. Currently I have unlocked Woodie and have yet to get to Wes, the mime. Woodie is so interesting! but at the same time, after playing for a while, his “curse” can get pretty annoying, in my opinion because if I don’t pay attention to the moon phases, I have to drop everything that I’m doing and run along and gnaw at everything. I do have the option of just standing there and letting the “curse” pass but I find that wasting time, so I run along like a good little beaver. Give it a try and see how you like it!  You have to have a Steam account, by the way and the game was on sale when I purchased it, but I re-checked again and last price was cheaper than when I had gotten it for $14.99 or something..  Have a good time playing! =)

Leave a Reply

